September 3, 2013

  • Dirty Laundry

    Privacy on the Internet
    I was on Facebook and someone posted a status in a group I'm involved in that began with "So I'm having a real "crap" (<-- word modified) day today!! My butthole (<-- word toned down) husband... etc, etc...", now, this really bothered me, #1 that she was lashing out at her husband publicly, and behind his back for that matter, I'd never dream about doing that to my husband, and if my husband ever did that to me it would just break my heart... and #2, she was expecting emotional support regarding it. This woman is full grown with four children, you'd think that would come along with just a tad of common sense, but of course it doesn't...

    I try to live my life straight forward, if I have an issue with you, or if I feel hurt, I will sit down with you and I will explain my emotions and what caused me to feel that way, and we'll talk about it, like adults, privately, and with respect for one another, and if I still feel I need support, or need to "figure something out", I'll speak to a close friend, privately... and sometimes I just need to lay my feelings out in my journal, also private... My grandmother taught me to NEVER air your dirty laundry for the world to judge, and to always keep up appearances out of respect for yourself and your partner, to those you don't know, and only share what you need to with those you love, know and trust, those who have your best interests at heart. I see so many women (and men), posting things that nobody on God's green earth should know about their marriage and their spouse. A marriage is a sacred, private thing, it should not be shared with the general public, not everyone online should have a play-by-play regarding your marital issues... it just - really grinds my gears, I find it disrespectful, and somewhat uncivilized and trashy to do otherwise. It's one thing to say "My husband and I had a disagreement, and I feel..." you know what, scratch that, it's still not right to post your marital issues publicly, I guess unless you are on a support forum board specifically for that reason and you are anonymous...

    Just venting... I don't understand people, and sometimes I feel like losing all hope in humanity, for a civilized society, we haven't come that far in regards to healthy communication or maturity... respect even. You have to have respect, not only for yourself, but for others. Some things are meant to be discreet, and marital issues are one of them.

    How do you feel about it?

    Quote of the Day:
    “I don’t like to share my personal life… it wouldn't be personal if I shared it.”
    - George Clooney

    This is Far_Skies... signing off... until next time...

Comments (11)

  • For me it's like this: if it's a closed group of people you trust, it's okay and even healthy sometimes to vent.

  • Xanga is ALIVE!!!

  • Do you know where the posts are?
    Can't find them :(

    • Oh no!! You didn't know?!? Xanga went premium, $48 a year... anyone who didn't pay by the end of august has lost their content! D: I can't get to your blog either... it's worth it, pay! This new start of xanga will be very sad without you. Oh man, I wish I had known you didn't know, I could have prepared you for this. *sad* I'm so sorry

  • The good news is that all of the blogs have been saved if you had 2 or more subscribers, so it's not too late to get your posts back, but it will cost you.

  • It's such a "Reality TV" kind of world, isn't it?

  • I don't think I'll pay $48 a year to see content I wrote myself and haven't looked at since 2008.

    • :( but what about all the good times we used to have on here...

  • That'll cost you $48/year :) )

    On the other hand, we can have good times through chatting/e-mail and I can have good times by posting comments here.

  • wholesale mlb jerseys china wholesale jerseys

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *