Month: September 2013

  • Empower yourself and change a life!

    You know, one thing I’ve learned in my adulthood is that you are only taken for a fool if you allow yourself to be. Sometimes we do this, we knowingly submit to nonsense in a blind faith that maybe this time, maybe this time will be different… maybe this time you will be wrong. Do not second guess yourself, this blind faith relies on the fortitude of others, and the only person you can trust to do what is right is yourself. You cannot rely on promises if they have never been backed up by, not only words, but actions. Words mean very little if they are not coupled with follow-through. We can articulate the grandest of words, and most profound words, most profound promises, but if they are not coupled with actions, then they are the most grandest of lies and deceit.

    Common sense isn’t so common anymore, neither is respect. You must set for yourself a general and reasonable expectation of conduct, without that you are nothing more than a doormat to other people with whom they can wipe their feet, they can defile your integrity and belittle your importance. There is not a person, a thing, within this galaxy, that can take away your power unless you submit that power to them. People only possess the power over our lives that we give them, the power over our happiness, self worth, joy… they have no power, but the power we give to them to belittle us. You are a magnificent being, you are unique, you are filled with an essence that no one else possesses, you are you. You are not weaker than the next, you choose to relinquish your power, you choose to be mastered… but you do not have to be a slave to someone elses expectations. You are allowed to be who you are, in all of your imperfections, shortcomings and debilitating fears… but that does not mean you are less important, or deserving of the pain you experience.

    Courage is not the lack of fear, courage is putting one foot in front of the other, and continuing on in the face of that adversity. Courage is, even when you feel so scared, so… utterly terrified, and yet… you walk on. THAT is courage. We all fear something… we all fear… but do not fear your own humanity, your own freedom, your own self worth… because nobody sets our worth but ourselves, and it does not matter how high another person sets their worth as long as we are honest with ours… and as long as we are honest, we are all equal, unless we choose to set our worth above everyone elses. Don’t get me wrong, there are those who, despite knowledgeable understanding, set their self worth higher than others… but it does not matter how much money you make, how “beautiful” you are within societies eyes, not a single one of us is worth MORE or LESS than any other… unless you make it a goal to belittle your fellow man, to condemn them for their short comings. I must admit, there are exceptions, extreme exceptions that are not accepted, and are inexcusable, I myself have experienced these exceptions… but if you ever find yourself wanting and bleeding for strength, a purpose, know that you already have it.

    One day, you could be the difference in somebodies life, you could be the weight that changes the measurements. You could be the difference. Mistakes and misfortunes are not for naught, as long as you learn from them, and with the knowledge you learn… my God, you could change a life.

  • Two Old Motherfuckers in a Red Chevrolet

    two_old_motherfuckers

    Two old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet
    Their blinkers were on, they were merging our way
    We braked and waited
    We cursed and we hated
    Those old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet

    Those old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet
    Wouldn’t get over, no, not today
    They weaved and they twined
    And we bitched and we whined
    Two old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet

    Two old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet
    Finally merged, but in the opposite way
    We flipped them the bird
    What they did was absurd
    Those old motherfuckers in a red Chevrolet

    Posted on my WritersCafe.org profile

  • Dirty Laundry

    Privacy on the Internet
    I was on Facebook and someone posted a status in a group I’m involved in that began with “So I’m having a real “crap” (<– word modified) day today!! My butthole (<– word toned down) husband… etc, etc…”, now, this really bothered me, #1 that she was lashing out at her husband publicly, and behind his back for that matter, I’d never dream about doing that to my husband, and if my husband ever did that to me it would just break my heart… and #2, she was expecting emotional support regarding it. This woman is full grown with four children, you’d think that would come along with just a tad of common sense, but of course it doesn’t…

    I try to live my life straight forward, if I have an issue with you, or if I feel hurt, I will sit down with you and I will explain my emotions and what caused me to feel that way, and we’ll talk about it, like adults, privately, and with respect for one another, and if I still feel I need support, or need to “figure something out”, I’ll speak to a close friend, privately… and sometimes I just need to lay my feelings out in my journal, also private… My grandmother taught me to NEVER air your dirty laundry for the world to judge, and to always keep up appearances out of respect for yourself and your partner, to those you don’t know, and only share what you need to with those you love, know and trust, those who have your best interests at heart. I see so many women (and men), posting things that nobody on God’s green earth should know about their marriage and their spouse. A marriage is a sacred, private thing, it should not be shared with the general public, not everyone online should have a play-by-play regarding your marital issues… it just – really grinds my gears, I find it disrespectful, and somewhat uncivilized and trashy to do otherwise. It’s one thing to say “My husband and I had a disagreement, and I feel…” you know what, scratch that, it’s still not right to post your marital issues publicly, I guess unless you are on a support forum board specifically for that reason and you are anonymous…

    Just venting… I don’t understand people, and sometimes I feel like losing all hope in humanity, for a civilized society, we haven’t come that far in regards to healthy communication or maturity… respect even. You have to have respect, not only for yourself, but for others. Some things are meant to be discreet, and marital issues are one of them.

    How do you feel about it?

    Quote of the Day:
    “I don’t like to share my personal life… it wouldn’t be personal if I shared it.”
    - George Clooney

    This is Far_Skies… signing off… until next time…